Traveling: Ireland

Hello All! Currently on tour with my choir in Ireland!!!! I wanted to give you an idea of where we’ve been so far and what’s happened. I’m afraid this won’t be terribly detailed as this trip involves a bunch of running around so I’ll give you the highlights so far.

1)

Plane ride was thrilling for the first 2 minutes and unconscious for the next 7 hours. Arrived in Dublin and immediately drove to Clonmel, a small town in south Ireland where the cider drink Bulmers is brewed. Big dinner, concert the next day and drinks with the locals where a priest bought us all a drink.

2)

Next Day, on the road again, this time to Galway, with a short stop in Limerick to get “Moody Cow” milkshakes. Stopped at a castle to see some 500 year old furniture and stones, and explored a small medieval village. Galway is apparently a wonderful party town, but we were too busy singing and running around to do any sightseeing. Fell asleep in the bath (lol) and had an early night in.

 

3)

Visited Kylemore Abbey in Connamara National Park… Sang in a miniature cathedral to tourists as they surveyed the place. The Castle was quaint, but had a sordid history of possession, going from being a man’s gift to his wife (like the Taj Mahal) to a partying gambler, to a banker, to a group of Benedictine nuns. It rained for much of the trip, but we had a great time that night watching some Irish dancing, and then singing raucously for the bar patrons and dancing to the traditional music.

4)

So far all we have done in Dublin is sing in Saint Patrick’s Cathedral (which sold merchandise in the back of the church – tut tut, sacrilegious – and where we could not find anywhere to change where someone wasn’t in the room fixing things or taking pictures), accidentally skip lunch and see the Guinness Storehouse, which I must admit was large and impressive, but made my feet hurt from all the walking. I now know more than I ever thought I would about draught stout. We navigated our way back to the rather nice arrangements on the other side of the river. Dublin is a lot smaller than it seems on a map.

I’m sorry I can’t give you the whole story… but anyways… those are the rough highlights. I’m sure many more exciting things have happened when I wasn’t around, but since I’ve been sick, I haven’t been in the mood for late night partying. Tomorrow we head to Scotland, so I’ll let you know more when I’ve lived it. Hope your summer is going well so far.

Slainte!

One thought on “Traveling: Ireland

Leave a Reply

