4:44

When I last picked up my phone it was 4:44pm. Although many would call this a coincidence, this sequence of numbers has been overly prevalent in my life for about 3 years now, so I decided to do a little research on the number.

There are four seasons, originally four elements, four directions and four times of the day.

According to mysticism: “The symbolic meaning of number Four deals with stability and invokes the grounded nature of all things. Fours represent solidity, calmness, and home. A recurrence of Four in your life may signify the need to get back to your roots, center yourself, or even “plant” yourself. Fours also indicate a need for persistence and endurance.”

According to Bible Experts, the number four represents all of God’s creation.

When I found this, however, my brain started to fizz a bit…

According to the Jewish Gematria, which assigns numbers to names and words, the number for Damascus is 444. The word Damascus is repeated 39 times in the Bible, or 3×13.

I was born March 13th at 4:44pm.

A while ago, I tried recording everywhere I saw that number repeated three times. I found it in phone numbers, license plates, spray painted on the sidewalk, on signs, websites, in books, in clocks and even in time itself (12 hours in a day= 3×4).

Although I recognize that this is likely just apophenia, I still like to wonder if someone out there is trying to tell me something.

Maybe I’ll just write a song about it.

Leave a Reply

