Rainy Thursday

It’s hard sometimes to wake up in the morning, and realize that half of your day will consist of trudging through ice cold puddles, while your tiny umbrella is buffeted to the point of exhaustion. However, it helps me somewhat to think of how the trees and grass must feel every time it rains. Drinking in the flavors, and soaking up the nutrients… I wonder if different kinds of rain taste distinct. I suppose summer rains in June taste like sunlight, distilled in each drop, and fall rain tastes darker, like wind, and the deep dampness of fallen leaves. Spring rain tastes like oxygen, and a hint of fragrance. It would be fascinating to know what that feels like.

As for me, since I’m not a tree, I like dancing in summer rains, drinking hot chocolate and watching fall and winter rains, and standing under my porch in the spring and watching the rain soak life into the earth.

Leave a Reply

